Getting ready to go

“If you were all alone in the universe with no one to talk to, no one with which to share the beauty of the stars, to laugh with, to touch, what would be your purpose in life? It is other life; it is love, which gives your life meaning. This is harmony. We must discover the joy of each other, the joy of challenge, the joy of growth.”

I’ve been thinking about going abroad for what feels like forever (realistically, probably more like a year or so). And now that this week is finally here, anticipation, nervousness, relief, and excitement are just a few of the overwhelming emotions I’m feeling. I’ve been to Haifa before, but just for a day of a 2-week trip I took with my parents last year.

This time, I’m on my own. So as I’ve been packing, I’m trying to think about what I want to do for the 3 and a half months I have to study, travel, learn, listen, converse, see, and understand what’s really going on over there. I want to believe that there can be peace- I want to be a part of facilitating it. I want to figure things out for myself, see what’s really going on, and bring back stories of real people, real families, and real life.

My heart is anxiously fluttering for my 11:30 pm departure time on Wednesday night. I’m ready for this challenge, to grow, and to hopefully find some answers along the way. And I’m comforted knowing that the whole time, I can look up at the stars I love so dearly and know I’m looking at the same sky as the people I love. Thank you to those of you who have been there for me for each step of the way, to my parents and grandparents who are making this opportunity possible, and for the unconditional love and support of so many friends and family. Love to all. Shalom.

Leave a Reply

